2k16 Mise En Place My Life — Spiced Chocolate Bundt Cakelettes

 photo 21 e1 copy_zps6uqpyk3d.jpg

I have this theory that… you really know you have your life in order when you mise en place.

Never do I ever do mise en place with baking. I mean, seriously, that requires some planning through the fortnight and shit. Normally I just grab a fistful of flour and throw it around until a misshapen cake appears. It’s always worked for me, okay?

But this time? Well, I was in a hurry. It was basically the day before New Year’s Eve (HAR HAR NEW YEARS ADAM HAR HAR I’M FUNNY) and my mother asked me to bake something, just ANYTHING so it felt festive. I was leaving her home this year so I could go party it up with a guy on the CEO track of an aeronautical company, a bonafide Mexican Millionaire, and my boyfriend in the glamorous SoHo area of NYC.

So guilt overtook me. Why not make a cake? Our Christmas this year was so sad in our house. Basically no decorations, no tree, no stockings, just like 1 present for each of us. Fuck it, it’s cake time.

 photo 38 copy_zpsifwyo6ae.jpg

I was gonna make another cranberry concoction, but seeing as I already have one posted and another coming out, I couldn’t really keep feeding you guys sugared cranberries. I mean, come on! Even I get sick of always eating the same crap.

So I thought, chocolate? But what kind of cake?? I still have to write up about 2 more chocolate cakes, and last thing I wanted was a THIRD chocolate cake that was basically the same as its predecessors. How did I stumble upon this particular kind of cake? Well, I just searched “chocolate new years cake”. Surely that had to yield SOME kind of results, no? I mean, that’s totally a thing, right???????

Apparently, not exactly. I found holiday chocolate cakes, and this one in particular as a whole big beautiful bundt cake, and I was going to use my trust haunted copper form, but I instead found the tiny little mini bundts my mother bought many, many moons ago so she could make upside down orange cakes.

The dazzling gorgeous beautiful cake that inspired me is from Louise’s Spis. The original recipe is written in… Swedish? Finnish? I have no idea!!
I only know like 3 languages, 2 of them basically being hateful cousins towards each other… I’m too American for Europe and too European for America!!!!! 😱
(note: googled it, it’s Swedish OH YEAH)
But serious side note: has anybody ever noticed how most Europeans speak like 16 languages so fluently you don’t even know which is their native tongue?? For real. That’s some skills. Some life goals.

Except that’s too hard for me, so I’ll just bake little misshapen blobs of sugar. 😊💖😘 I think that’s my true life goal anyway!

I wanted to make the gingerbread frosting to go with it, but I simply did not have time. I made the little cakes the 30th, and made the icing sugar the 31st all while trying to get ready and catch a train. There was no time for butter that is creamed!

This whole cake baking process was honestly one of the most relaxing I’ve ever had on this blog. Everything flowed so effortlessly… maybe it’s because I actually…… did mise en place?? But everything just came together, and when these little babies came out, it truly felt like a winter wonderland miracle.

Well, after they got stuck to the pans so badly I had to glue them back together with icing and stuff. Ya know. Just like my life that’s in shambles. 😰

Recipe Card!


Spiced Chocolate Bundt Cakelettes

Ingredients for cake

  • 225g {~2 sticks?} butter, softened
  • 60g {~1/2 cup} cocoa powder
  • 150ml {~1/2 cup} water
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 250ml {~1 cup} sour cream OR 1 cup heavy cream {or any fatty milk} w/ 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 400g {~2 cups} sugar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 250g {~2 cups} ap flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  1. Preheat yo oven to like 350F. Look at the instructions and have a meltdown over how everything is in weights. Why. Why. Why does the whole world have to follow a similar scientific measurement way of baking, and not follow our American ways of throwing flour and sugar in hamfistedly and praying to the cake gods that our baked goods come together?? Seriously, come on rest of the world. Get your shit together.

  2. Resign to the fact that you will be weighing everything out on your cheap yet reliable Martha Stewart scale gifted to you by some relatives. Proceed to butter a 6-count mini bundt pan all while being cranky over how difficult to is to flour each little pan. Do no lose faith! I’m here 4 u!

  3. In a medium saucepan get your butter and melt those suckers. I actually had mine brown up a little bit just to impart more of a nutty flavor. Once melted to your desire, put in the cocoa powder, even if it seems so damn wrong. Trust me, this is worth it.
    Now add in the spices and water while whisking. Take it off the heat. U done.
    Lick some of this mixture from your whisk and contemplate stopping your cakes right here just to eat the chocolate. Don’t do this friends. You can make it to the end!

  4. Add in the sour cream, sugar, vanilla and eggs to the cocoa mixture and whisk like you’re a little french home baker. Taste the mixutre and cry just a little more because it’s possible that this has increased in taste!

  5. In a stand mixer (or honestly you can even do this by hand, I’m just lazy) combine the rest of the dry ingredients; flour, baking soda and salt. Add the cocoa mixture to this and either whisk or beat it together until well combined. Please stop eating the damn batter! You need it to last!!

  6. Pour into each of the little cakes. You need to leave at least 1/4th of that space left. I over filled them because I didn’t want to bake them up in ramekins. I made one and it over grew like a big fat muffin and I’m still eat that sucker.

  7. Put it in the oven and let them bake for about… 20-25 minutes. Just keep your eye on it. I’ve noticed it’s so much easier to burn chocolate because you don’t even know it’s too toasted until you eat the damn thing! Friends don’t let friends eat burnt chocolate. ilu all too much.

  8. Once done baking, remove them from the oven and allow them to cool like at least 15 minutes in their pan. Loosen up the sides with a knife and while cursing loudly over how you didn’t butter the pan enough causing your little bundts to break. Fear not, for you can easily glue them back together with the icing you’ll be making!

Ingredients for spiced icing
In true nutmeg fashion this was basically all eyeballed

  • ~1 cup powdered sugar
  • ~1/2 cup (???) whole milk
  • dash of cinnamon
  • pinch of nutmeg
  1. In a small bowl start scooping out powdered sugar by the spoonful. Add some milk to it, and alternate with sugar until you get a thick creamy icing. It should still be pourable, so not too thick guys!!
  2. Get out a spoon and just pour some of that icing all over your little babies. I ended up topping them with little dragées because I am a sucker for the flair of dramatics.


 photo 9 copy_zps9nlkn1fm.jpg
The batter splatter is for artistic reasons of course. I totally put that there on purpose. Yup! Trust me! don’t trust me
 photo 16 copy_zpssrq7f97t.jpg
Nothing is more raw than a black metal outdoor table that was accidentally repainted brown because your grandfather is going colorblind in his old age

 photo 29 copy_zpsbhz7yq4l.jpg

 photo 34 copy_zpsqndgihdm.jpg
So I had an assload of fun taking these photos, can ya tell???

In the process of somehow waking up at 8 am for my hair appointment, after going out with the boys the night before and coming home only at 3 am… I finished these cakes. I was so cracked out for sleep, I napped in the car and on the train for a grand total of 15 whole minutes of nap time!! Not bad, eh?

We got to NYC and wasted most of our time just catching a cab or an uber, being driven around in circles, since our hotel was near Times Square, and having me show up LATE to our amazing cool dinner. 😭 The only time I actually wanted to be on time for something!!!

Either way, we partied it up, zombied through the city the whole next day, watched a play, and somehow arrived safe back home at 2am.
Again? So late?!! Shit man, I’m still all crooked from last weekend. 😓

Blog note! I just want to thank all of my new followers! I’m just ONE away from 100!!! I’m so full of excitement I could burst!! I’ll think of something cute to mark the occasion when it happens!!

💋

2 thoughts on “2k16 Mise En Place My Life — Spiced Chocolate Bundt Cakelettes

Nibble for your thoughts?

