Super Summer Pie – Peach, Strawberry, Blueberry Crumble Pie

image host

About a year ago, a “Bake Off” fundraiser was held at my previous job, rousing the competitive spirit in me., Originally I baked up mini blueberry cheesecakes but changed my mind because I am a fickle pickle.

Even though I knew would probably have been the only one that would put some effort into baking, I wanted to do something awesome. Something balls-to-the-wall, ya know? I mean, I get it, other people have families, chores, and things to do that didn’t revolve around an all-consuming desire to become a better baker. But… whatever.

Still, due to my almost notorious reputation of being the insane baker for office events, I felt, even more, anxiety about pulling something delicious out of my ass in order to impress everybody. That’s how that works, right? Very healthy behavior! Nothing to look at here, hurry along.

Ultimately, this is the dessert I “entered” into the “bake-off”. If you’re wondering about my use of so many quotes, it’s because this event was less of a bake off and more of an excuse to eat brownies and pie at 2 pm. 👍 👍 👍

However, none of this went according to plan. As mentioned about, the original plan was to make snackable mini blueberry cheesecakes (SO CUTE), but they came out lopsided and crooked. Also hot day + 50-minute train ride + 10-minute walk outside in the unforgiving mire of an NYC summer = b a d i d e a. Plus, my life is already crookedly lopsided, and dammit, I couldn’t stand to have my stupid little cheesecakes suffer the same fate.

So, I ended up extra blueberries, but not enough for a whole pie. We also still had all of these peaches that I earlier made into a spiced peach cobbler and some strawberries on their way to mold-land so I figured, fuck it, let’s make a SUPER SUMMER PIE. 🌞 🌴 🌞 Dibs on the name for my new California Beach Band Name

This was one of the best pies I’ve ever made. It was simple, came together quickly, and was beautiful. A true vision of perfection!!

A year later, and she’s made like Houdini and vanished.
You see, all of the notes I had on this recipe are gone. I’d write them in my phone or store them up in my noodle noggin, but since both my old phone and my noggin are too noodle-y, I cannot fathom what the original recipe is, or if I just made it up myself. I recall all of the ingredients, but I had to look at other recipes to get the right quantities of fruit filling.

My mishmash is based on two recipes, maybe., One on Taste of Home and one from Saving Room for Dessert. In some magical combination of the two, you’ll find the treasure ye seek!

Honesty time: I didn’t make the pie crust. 😭😭😭 I made this pie on a work night and after I made (and stress ate) the mini blueberry cheesecakes. Sheer desire to make something impressive and delicious grabbed such a hold of me, I went to bed with only four spoonful’s of dinner, mini blueberry cheesecakes and anxiety in my stomach.😭

But I won, so WORTH IT. B Y E L A D I E S. 👋 🗣 👸 There’s nothing that makes you feel more like the HBIC for the day like watching people who give you grief and stress all week gob and gush over your pie. 😄😁😜 +1 for the underdog!


Peach, Strawberry, Blueberry Crumble Pie AKA SUPER SUMMER PIE

Serves 8, or more if you happen to work in an office of people who are very conscious about their weight (Hey, more for you!).


Pie Crust

Ingredients:

  • 1 pie crust, room temp {I use Trader Joe’s}

Instructions:

  1. Preheat that bad boy (oven) up to 375F.

  2. While the oven is preheating, your already defrosted crust will be sweating in their little plastic prison. Release her doughy-self into this world and drape her into a false bottom tart pan (Mine is 9″ methinks). Trim the edges (if you somehow have overhang). Pinch the dough into the mold of the tart pan, and pierce the bottom. Pop it into the fridge for ~10 minutes so the butter hardens and doesn’t cause the crust to shrink into the saddest cracker.

  3. Get that little dust-collecting Tupperware of over-baked rice / beans, to weigh down your crust, out of your pantry. Place some aluminum foil down and your cronchy rice on top of it. Stick the pie in the oven to bake for about 10 – 15 minutes.

  4. Investigate your pie when you pull it out. Times are estimated because my oven is a classic fable trickster and loves to fuck up my shit. When your crust looks firm, but not browned, then take off the rice and aluminum and bake it for another 10 minutes, or when roasty brown. Remove from oven and set to the side when done.

Peach, Strawberry, Blueberry Filling

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp ground ginger {You can probably use fresh if finely chopped}
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 3 cups sliced peaches {This is gonna look like a lot}
  • 1 cup strawberries, cut
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 2 tsp lemon juice {I get it from a bottle, sooooo???}

Instructions:

  1. Start off by sweetly asking your mother to peel and cut the peaches, because she’s got years of cutting up fruits while you spent the last ten years of your life crying over Pokémon cards (NOTE: This only works if you are broke and live at home with your mom!!!). Cut up your strawberries into halves or quarters, whatever your heart desires, friend!

  2. Unceremoniously dump all of the fruit into a big bowl. Pour in the sugar, cornstarch, ginger, cinnamon and lemon juice. Feel the simple pleasure of recalling childhood without sobbing uncontrollably by mixing the ingredients with your hands. This is so the fruit doesn’t get bruised, and you get to lick off fruity sugar syrup off your hands!! So no downfalls??

  3. Let it sit for 10 to 20 minutes while the fruit juices out. 👀😏 I prefer a wetter, bubblier, juicier pie, tbh.

  4. Pour the fruit into the pie shell and set aside.

Crumble Topping

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar (I use whatever I have on hand)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1/3 cup cold butter, cubed

Instructions:

  1. In a small bowl dump in the flour, brown sugar and the regular sugar. Give it a little stir with a fork and get it all nice and mixed up in there.

  2. Have a slight anxiety attack when you realize you have no idea how many tablespoons are in 1/3 of a cup. Continue to question the value of the American education system in regards to math as you patiently wait for google to give you the answer. Wonder how you would even be alive without the internet telling you how to solve your problems.

  3. With a pastry blender punch the butter and flour mixture into submission. You know it’s done when you have something that resembles coarse delicious sand.

Pie Assembly + Baking

Instructions:

  1. Take your cooled off pie shell and just dump your fruit mixture right in it. Spread those cute fruities all around to make the pie even.

  2. Take the crumble sand and just go nuts. Throw that sand around like you’re a corny Salt Bae meme. If you’re real fancy you can even add some sea salt on top. But this is only for expert level baking-obsessive talentless fools such as myself. 😅👍

  3. Put this small cutie you’ve created into the oven and let ‘er bake for about 20 – 45 minutes. It depends on your oven. My oven was smelted by Satan himself (talented guy, I must say) so it somehow cooks everything 50% faster. My pie baked in roughly 20 minutes.
    You can tell the pie is done when the juices are bubbling out of the cracks and you have to angrily clean your oven because of the fruit compote devilishly roasting itself to the oven bottom.

  4. Cool off for 15 minutes and then eat this sucker hot or cold and with ice cream!!

image host
When this is the nicest plate in the office. 😳😬 It’s like somebody’s grandma was tasked with taking something to the Sunday Church Potluck and just brought these plates.

image host

image host

By the way, I used this last pic in a writing class I took. The assignment was to make an advertisement or something and I went maybe just a little above and beyond the requirements. Check ‘er out here.

I always wanted to be a children’s hand model with my tiny baby-hands and knobby fingers. Except apparently, the wild world of hand modeling requires things like “nice cuticles”, “unbitten nails”, and “delicate holding techniques”. Well la-dee-da, asking for much, aren’t we?? Unrealistic ideals in this industry. My hands are beautiful even with anxiety bitten 3-week chipped neon orange nail polish!!!

Here’s to coming back alive from another hiatus. Since the last post I’ve gained a new home (boyfriend’s apartment) in LA. I’ll be floating around between NJ / NYC and LA until I (hopefully) start grad school next year. 😄

Love you all! 💋

P.S. Hope you all like some of the changes I made to post! Added a new recipe box for easy viewing.

Nibble for your thoughts?

